Audi A3 2007 2.0T Engine dying at low rpm, EPC and Engine malfunction light on

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2017, 09:29 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Audi A3 2007 2.0T Engine dying at low rpm, EPC and Engine malfunction light on

Audi A3 2007 2.0T Engine dying at low rpm, EPC and Engine malfunction light on
Driving a 2007 A3 hatchback 2.0T.
This is my first forum post, I have very very little knowledge in regards to mechanic work especially on this vehicle so I'm really hoping that someone on here can help me narrow this down so I can start on trying to fix this issue myself. I cannot afford to put it in a shop right now, I'm a college student and money is very tight right now.
My main issue is that while I'm shifted out of gear
at low speeds/dropping in speed to stop or while idling the engine shuts off. While Im in neutral at low rpm the engine loses power so I have to restart the car in traffic to get moving again.
Somtimes the engine shuts off right after turning over if I don't give it gas with the pedal, other times it will stay idling for random periods of time on its own but seems to be having a lot trouble and is making a lot of bad noise while running in idle or low gear speed. Right now to keep the engine from dying at traffic stops I've been applying a small amount of pressure to the gas pedal to keep it running.

These are the codes I just had pulled
P2181 : Cooling system performance

P000A : Engine position system performance - Bank 1

P0016 : Crankshaft position - Camshaft Position correlation - Bank 1 sensor A

P0642 : Sensor reference Voltage A circuit Low

P2004 : Intake Manifold Runner Control stuck open Bank 1

P0341 : Camshaft Position Sensor A Circuit Range/performance (Bank 1 or single sensor)

My assumption based on the obvious is that the engine is having trouble getting fuel passively while I'm in neutral or in first gear at low speeds.
So far I seem to be running fine from 2nd to 5th gear.