Audi S5: P2006 P2007 P2004 P2005 DTC for Intake Manifold Runner

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2015, 03:23 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Audi S5: P2006 P2007 P2004 P2005 DTC for Intake Manifold Runner

I own a 2009 Audi S5, with the 4.2L V8 FSI engine. This also applies to a 2008 Audi S5.
I encountered the following errors and managed to fix it. I'll give it my best shot to explain everything that I learned, although I am no expert. Use this information at your own peril.

P2004 = Intake Manifold Runner Stuck Open Control Bank 1
P2005 = Intake Manifold Runner Stuck Open Control Bank 2

P2006 = Intake Manifold Runner Stuck Closed Control Bank 1
P2007 = Intake Manifold Runner Stuck Closed Control Bank 2

I believe you get the first two or the second two, depending on the position that the runner is stuck in. Closed is more common.

I have the magnesium intake manifold (change over to plastic was midway through MY2009). If this is what you have (manifold is metal), then this would apply. If you have the plastic manifold, I'm told that is actuated by vacuum tubes, so this mostly will not apply.

There are a set of flaps directly upstream of the intake valves. Their function is to change the effective diameter of the intake runner at different RPM to improve power and efficiency. They come in a pair since it's a V8, running along both sides of the intake manifold, four flaps on each shaft, two shafts. The shafts comes out of the front side of the manifold. A motor (lower drive unit) connected to two linkages actuates the shafts, and a sensor on each shaft (Bank 1&2) checks if they made it to the correct position. If the sensor reports that the flaps are not in the correct position, the engine concludes that the flaps are stuck closed, or open.
(Note that this is not related to the variable intake flaps in the center of the manifold, which is actuated by the upper drive unit. This is concerned with the lower drive unit)