A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Automatic Transmission - real bad sound when in Park or neutral

Old 02-10-2005, 02:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Automatic Transmission - real bad sound when in Park or neutral

worried Noob here.

I have a 1998 A4 2.8 Quattro, auto transmission. 110K miles. Was driving to lunch today, stopped at a traffic light and put the car in park as I needed to grab something from the back seat real quick. When I shifted into park, I was greeted by a very bad sound -- like something grinding real fast & real loud -- definitely not a sound a car is supposed to make. I switched right back to drive and the sound was gone. Noticed it made the same sound when I shifted past neutral as well.

I'm not too handy with engines, and am afraid this means my transmission is on it's way out? However what is strange is I drove the couple blocks further back to work, parked the car for 10 minutes or so, came back to it and started it up again, and had no sounds at all when in any gear. drove around the block and didn't notice anything--the sound had magically disappeared.

I'm wondering what this could be -- does anyone have any advice? Should I have it looked at ASAP? and transmission repairs aren't cheap, are they? yikes!

thanks in advance!
Old 02-10-2005, 03:18 PM

Default like fharting noise or more like fharting mixed w/ fluid?

it'd be worth checking your drawers after that..
Old 02-10-2005, 04:28 PM

Default Re: like fharting noise or more like fharting mixed w/ fluid?

hmm...interesting question. well, didn't really sound like fluid. If I had to relate it to a sound I've heard, I would have to say it sounded like a belt whirring really fast and rubbing against something. Maybe that has something to do with it? But didn't really sound like any type of fluid was involved.