A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Fluid Wont Pass Through Calipers..?!

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2015, 09:02 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fluid Wont Pass Through Calipers..?!

Car: 1999 Audi A4 Quattro 1.8t

Problem: My front right caliper would seize up when hot. If I left the car to cool down for an hour it would unseize until it got hot again.

I got a rebuilt caliper and swapped it with the seized one, I also cleaned up the front left caliper at the same time because it needed some general maintenance (lube pins, cleaning etc).

The problem is I can't bleed the brakes... The fluid refuses to pass through either front caliper. I disconnected the brake line going to each caliper and the fluid doesn't leak on its own. If I push the brake pedal fluid does come out though but possibly more slowly then it should.. (I'm not too experienced)..

I put some paper towel over the end of the disconnected brake line and gave the brake 5 pumps on either side.

The left side seemed to put out a decent amount of fluid.

The right side put out about 1/3rd the amount the left side did.

(I did this test on each line individually, not with them both disconnected

See pics:

Left side: http://s30.postimg.org/jdrwi018g/201..._56_08_346.jpg

Right side: http://s30.postimg.org/kc89kaekg/201..._11_42_152.jpg

Any idea what's causing the fluid to not pass through either caliper?

And why does more fluid come from the left line?
Old 05-11-2015, 03:16 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Well, if you pump the brakes with the screw open you will just draw air into the caliper making the issue worse. The reason your rebuilt caliper leaks less fluid is that it came full of air. Anyway, there are a lot of good instructions available, just do a search on "bleeding brakes instructions". I find the easiest to be with two people.
Old 05-11-2015, 08:18 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Originally Posted by David.Norton