A4 (B5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B5 Audi A4 produced from 1995-2001 B5 FAQ

Question from a writer- How to steal an Audi

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2015, 06:05 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question from a writer- How to steal an Audi

Hi All,
This is a weird question to ask, especially from a new member. I am a writer working on a manuscript (mystery/action adventure) where the main character is caught in a tight spot and needs to steal an Audi. Maybe an A4 but the model doesn't really matter. It needs to be a newer model as the owner is wealthy and wouldn't drive an older car. The car is locked and the hero has no keys. He also has now electricity available and no computer to break into the keyless ignition.
I've done the normal internet search and can't find a believable solution. My readers would call me on it if I just through some bull**** on the paper.
I found a site that lists a five-step procedure that involves running a jumper cable from the battery to the starter solenoid and some other steps but I'm not so sure.
I'm not trying to steal a car....I promise.
If anyone out there can offer ideas I would really appreciate it. If you don't feel comfortable answering on this forum please contact me by email directly.
Thanks for any ideas.
Old 07-25-2015, 06:26 AM
AudiWorld Member

Perhaps this will help...

Keeping Your Car Safe From Electronic Thieves - The New York Times
http://www.nytimes.com/.../keeping-y...c-thieves.html
Old 07-25-2015, 06:47 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Originally Posted by Peter B.
Perhaps this will help...

Keeping Your Car Safe From Electronic Thieves - The New York Times
www.nytimes.com/.../keeping-your-car-safe-from-electronic-thieves.html
Thanks for the quick reply. I read some other articles about computers being used to hack the keyless systems but this amplifier was new to me. I don't think this will work in my scenario though. My guy is old school.