A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi A4 produced from 2002-2005

Car jerking at light throttle + P0441. Related?

Old 11-28-2010, 03:18 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car jerking at light throttle + P0441. Related?

Ok, so I'm new to Audi. A few weeks ago I bought a 2003 A4 3.0L and it just had the clutch replaced. When I was driving it home, it threw a P0441 incorrect purge flow code. I cleared it and it was fine. I changed the timing belt, water pump, tensioner, pulleys on it last weekend and when I started it, it was misfiring on 2 cylinders. I changed the plugs and moved the coils around and that cured it.
A couple of days later the P0441 code came back. I cleared it again and it didn't come back until the next day. I drove it on the interstate for about 100 miles and cleared it again but it came back an hour later. I'm not sure where to start on fixing it. I wasn't too worried about it since it's just emissions but the car is starting to jerk.
When it's just cruising at a constant speed it will intermittently "jerk" (feels like the engine is cutting out). It's a totally random event but it will NOT do it when I'm off the throttle or at full throttle. It will only happen at light throttle. This happened once on my way home from buying the car (before changing the timing belt) but didn't feel it again for a while. The morning after the TB change it happened again but ran fine the rest of the week. It started again and progressively worsened this weekend as I drove it about 500 miles out of town.
I think it's an engine problem and not a transmission (6 speed manual) issue but I'm not sure. Could the P0441 and jerking be related? There are no misfire codes, so am I wasting money by replacing coil packs? (They were replaced under recall about 13000 miles ago)

Any help would be appreciated. I have some mechanical experience but not on Audis

Thanks
Old 11-28-2010, 06:24 PM
AudiWorld Member