A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi A4 produced from 2002-2005

Immobilizer issue? Or something else? Pls Help

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2016, 06:42 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Immobilizer issue? Or something else? Pls Help

Immobilizer Issue help needed Whats my next step?
Hi newbie here. Hoping you experts can provide me with your opinions & advice on the following. Thanks in advance!

2003 Audi a4 quattro 1.8t automatic trans. Cranks & starts for a second shuts off. When starting there is no immobilzer light that comes on at anytime during the process. When turning it goes to safe on the odometer. If I clear it & will no longer show safe, open the door it shows mileage like normal, turn key to position 2 still fine. Turn to start car starts, shuts off after a second back to saying safe on odometer. Same thing every time & no immobilizer light at any time not even when I turn to positiom 2 and all the other lights light up before turning key. Additionally I can not get the fob to program to unlock or lock the car. I hav tried every programming scenario on the boards. I even let it sit with key in ignition on position overnight with car batt on a trickle. Has new battery in both fob & car. Getring fuel & spark. Only have the 1 key ever. Car did sit for about 3 months without battery in it. I missing something? Im at a loss & ask what my next step is other than taking it to audi. I just want to get it to idle. I dont hav a vagcom but not opposed to getting one if it will help me fix issue. Is it the immobilizer & why does it go to safe in first place? If it is immobilzer should I or can i just get my ecu flashed to bypass the immobilzer & how or wher can I do that? Any assistance & suggestions on my next steps to take is greatly appreciated.
Old 11-28-2016, 06:13 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 35 Likes on 35 Posts