A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi A4 produced from 2002-2005

Need advice on engine change 1.8T Quattro

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2014, 12:12 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice on engine change 1.8T Quattro

Hi all,

I need to change the engine on my son's 2005 A4 1.8T Quattro. Is there a way to do it without removing the transmission also. It appears that the two lower engine to transmission bolts are very hard if not impossible to get to unless we remove the engine/transmission as a single unit. If that's the case, how do we disconnect the front wheel drive axles from the tranmission: at the wheels or transmission?

Is it recommended to remove the transmission anyway with this car?

I'm new to Audis so this has been an experience so far!

Thanks for any advice.

Brent
Old 07-24-2014, 04:45 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Heres how I do it. Remove the front bumper, radiator support all that. So its wide open. Pick the engine weight up with a crane. Un bolt the engine mount to subframe, and trans mounts to subframe. Remove the bolts holding the subframe, let it hang down. Then just pull it all out. Its just so not worth the struggle of trying to leave the transmission. Its so nice to just pull it out, unbolt the trans, pull it off, do what you gotta do, mate them together and install. You can unplug the ECU and all the colored plugs and drag the entire wire harness out with it. Makes install much easier.
Old 07-25-2014, 01:24 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer