A4 (B6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B6 Audi A4 produced from 2002-2005

URGENT Please Help

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2016, 11:24 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default URGENT Please Help

Hi there, I'm new to Audi and looking at buying a 2005 audi a4 3.0 quattro automatic. While at the dealership, I noticed a leak coming from this hose. Didn't seem like a bad leak, but I noticed fresh liquid on the engine directly below it and a drop sitting on the bottom of the hose itself.

Is this normal? What is this hose for (cant find it anywhere)?

Also, as far as the engine is concerned, it seemed very sound, but when I went from a full stop to full gas, I noticed a small amount of white smoke come out the back. It didn't do it again during the test drive, only the first time.

Is that normal for these cars? Assuming it's been sitting for a bit.

Brakes looked decent but worn, not sure on service interval or prices, but what should I expect if I use non-oem parts and do it myself (good stuff, not crap but not R8 $)?

Finally, given it's an 05 with 63k miles, and somewhat damaged cosmetically, I would imagine it sat outside for some time. As I looked into the damage, I noticed a good amount of rust under bottom of the door paneling. Does this look like a huge issue, or are these parts easy to come by? Would I be in the same price range if I had them use the Sline side panels?

Any other thoughts or things to look for?

Thank you so much!!!!
Attached Images         
Old 03-08-2016, 07:23 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

In the past two years I've bought an 03 and 02 A4, plus an 04 Passat. 102k,101k, and 35k respectively. They were all located in the jungle that is Craigslist. Each took a few months to find. I probably talked to people about 50 cars, and looked at maybe 10.