A4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi A4 produced from 2005-2008.5

A4 1.8T B7 BFB Motor knocking noise on cold start

Old 06-14-2016, 01:32 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A4 1.8T B7 BFB Motor knocking noise on cold start

Hello All
I'm new to audiworld and this is my first... here goes.
I have a 2007 Audi A4 1.8T (BFB motor) multitronic that has this strange knocking /zinging noise on cold starts is goes away after about a min of idling. thereafter she drives fine no error codes or warning lights.
i initially thought it was the cam chain tensioner and replaced it along with the recent cam belt service etc, but the noise still remained. The noise seems to be coming from the back of the motor and i just cant seem to place it.
the car at the moment has 178000km on the clock and serviced regularly.

Last year I had low oil pressure warning light and replaced the oil pickup, sump cleaned, pcv valves etc replaced. Is there a chance that i missed something that needed to be cleaned that is perhaps not allowing enough oil to get to some parts. I have a video of the sound and hopefully someone would be able to point me in the right direction.

Thank you!
Old 06-14-2016, 04:00 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts