A4 (B7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B7 Audi A4 produced from 2005-2008.5

P0171 system too lean bank 1

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2014, 06:22 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default P0171 system too lean bank 1

Hey guys I'm extremely new to the Audi world. I just bought a 2008 Audi a4 2.0 fsi with 111,000 miles. It's an automatic. I don't know much about cars so I had an AFE air intake installed by a mechanic. About two days after he put it on it started throwing p0171. I took it back in and he said he double checked the air intake and put a new crank case vent valve on it (for free) and said that was the problem. Well I just got back up the mountain and the light is on again for the same problem. Also my car feels slow as crap. He said it was boosting 11-12psi when he drove it with the computer but I just don't believe it. I also put on the GFB diverter valve as I heard those can effect boost. Do y'all have any idea what could be causing it to throw his code? Thanks a to
Old 08-16-2014, 03:34 PM
AudiWorld Member

Things like air intake and diverted valves have little impact on performance. Once you start modding you're altering the engine there's no way around it and you should expect codes. If you want performance the best way is a tune and even then you're compromising the reliability and life of the engine. Of you think it can go long with a stage tune, then it can always go longer without one. It's the nature of the game. Subtle changes can have profound effects. Stay away from the gimmicky Bolt-ons that promise you this and that, it's common sense. If you're bent on performance then try stage 1 then a test pipe or hiflow cat stage two. These cars are not strip cars; realistically your may get a 13+ car. Don't know how long you want to keep it, but u need to ask yourself if it's worth it chasing boost.
Old 08-17-2014, 11:10 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Ok thanks, do you know what would cause it to have that code?