A4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A4 produced from 2008.5

How can I remove the "hill holder" feature.

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2014, 10:49 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How can I remove the "hill holder" feature.

Hello all,

Does anyone know if I can remove the hill holder function without using a VAG-COM tool? I've read there is a "secret" menu in the MMI (MMI without NAV) and was hoping I could simply turn this "feature" off. It drives me nuts and it caused me to stall my car twice in traffic yesterday. I have been driving a manual transmission for 3 decades, and never had an issue until the computer tried handling the forward motion.

Essentially, the engine force required to overcome the hill holder is too high and causes my car to lurch forward if I give it enough gas to break free of the hill holder. If I try to pull the clutch out slowly, the car just stalls without moving. It's not a benefit to me and I want it gone. I've managed well without it for a long time and this is not an improvement. My ideal car would have simply had a manual hand brake instead of the electro mechanical BS.

The other contributing factor is that i still have my 1.8T Passat manual, and it does not have a hill holder feature, so trying to re-learn to drive a manual differently every time I get in my new A4 is less than ideal as I never have to use the parking brake in the Passat to "hold a hill"

Any help?

2014 A4 S-line 6MT Volcano Red
1999 Passat 1.8t 5MT K04, FMIC, APR, TT, etc. (it's faster than my new A4 for now)
Old 01-02-2015, 03:33 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

As I suspected, the dealer claims the hill holder can be disabled electronically. The dealer wants to charge me $65 to disable it, and then said that every time I have it serviced and the computer is updated, they would charge me another $65 to disable it again because it would automatically be updated back to the default setting of "on"