A4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A4 produced from 2008.5

Just ordered wheel hub-bearing assembly. What to prepare for next....

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2017, 07:54 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just ordered wheel hub-bearing assembly. What to prepare for next....

Hi, An Audi noob here.

My recently bought 2012 A4 B8 Quattro base sedan drones (~47K). After much deliberation, I decided to change both front wheel bearings. Considered going to the dealer (nearly $1500!), ordering just the *** bearings (~$200) and ordering the hub-bearing assembly from Audi (~$600; part #8K0407607) and ordered the latter last night. I believe with this, I will avoid the trouble of pressing the bearings.

I have seen a couple of threads here on this DIY but still would like some advise as to exactly what tools (and size) will I need, will be difficult to remove the old bearing/hub, tricks and tips. Looks like my axle bolts are 19 mm, wheel nuts are 17 mm and am not sure about the triple square and other nuts/bolts/screws to be removed. How difficult is it to access those triple squares and what kind to wrench (size) will I need? I do not have an impact wrench or any other air tools.

Also, we jacked up a wheel yesterday and didn't quite see the jack stand point with three bolts as seen in some user pics. Any idea where to put jack stand? I have a nice big aluminum jack, should I use just that alone for this purpose?
Old 02-13-2017, 04:57 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Sounds like a plan. I would be interested in your used hubs if in good condition.
Old 02-14-2017, 08:54 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Crap! they cancelled the order saying its discontinued Now I have to order bearings and go thru the trouble of removing, pressing.....
Does anyone have a DIY for removing, pressing bearings on A4 B8?
Old 02-15-2017, 05:20 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts