A4 (B8 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A4 produced from 2008.5

Newbie in the Audi world...Needed advice

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2012, 07:12 AM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Newbie in the Audi world...Needed advice

Hiya All..
I'm a newbie in the Audi world and test drove for the 1st time yesterday! I previously had a BMW which my ex took away. I'm looking at a pre-owned A4, 2009 or 2010..
- The pre-owned A4 I drove (2009, Premium) had around 24k miles but I could feel decent lot of road noise. What's a typical life on the OEM tires? Was it just the tires or something else could be wrong or does one feel the road in general on the Audi's?
- Should one get a certified used or a regular pre-owned from good re-sale prospective? I was looking at buying a car around 25k miles and drive till 70-75k miles.

Thanks,
Vik
Old 02-26-2012, 04:21 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Unless something is wrong with the car I would think the road noise is just coming from the specific tires on the car, any idea what kind of tires they were? I don't noticed much road noise in my car, 2012 premium with the stock 17 inch wheels and tires. As for feeling the road, I think the ride is extremely comfortable but again thats without the sport suspension and with 245/45 tires, which with my previous experiences are very soft. I came from a car with a very hard suspension with really stiff sidewall tires so the ride comfort is incredible compared to what I was used to. I suppose it really matters what you were used to and your roads but I would be surprised if other cars in the A4 class offer better comfort because I don't think any of the post 2000 BMW/Audi/Infiniti etc.. offer something with a bigger sidewall then 245/45.