Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

AWD with Summer tires vs 2WD with Winter Tires

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2014, 05:40 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default AWD with Summer tires vs 2WD with Winter Tires

It's the tire compound that matters, not so much the size of the wheel/tire. Be sure to watch the Video.

Here's Proof All-Wheel Drive Is Useless In The Snow Without Proper Tires
Old 12-17-2014, 07:29 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 51 Likes on 38 Posts

I am not an expert but do have a significant amount of experience driving in places that have a lot of snow and ice. My take is that tires are very important and AWD is very important. As more and more manufacturers offer digital-controlled traction control, the extra edge provided by AWD seems to be diminishing.
I do feel that AWD with winter tries will be better than a FWD car with the same tires. For about 10 years I had a weekend home in the Catskill Mountains at a 3,100 ft. elevation (not much elsewhere in the US, but pretty high up for New York State). I was on a private road (not maintained by the local Town) with a pretty steep grade, so much so, that the Town would not take over maintenance because it exceeded the grade limit. Oil trucks, etc. declared no deliveries from November 1 to April 1 because of the difficulty in getting up the road. One time a FedEx truck got stuck and slid sideways into the drainage ditch for several hours until it was rescued. After that they never tried to deliver in bad weather.