Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

Mini DIY - how to change pads and rotors on a TDI C7

Old 05-07-2016, 08:57 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mini DIY - how to change pads and rotors on a TDI C7

Disclaimer: I am not a pro mechanic; I am also not responsible for any damage you sustain to your vehicle. If you have reservations about doing the work - perhaps the best course of action would be to go to an authorized service station.

Sorry for lack of pictures; I get super focused when I work on these things and while everything is in my head, I forget to take pictures.

Tools needed: amazingly enough - NO SPECIAL TOOLS (triple squares or long hex bits) NEEDED!

* 17 mm long socket for the lug bolts / also consider a 1/2" torque wrench for tightening the lug nuts.
* Preferably - an impact wrench.
* A 1/2" or 3/4" breaker bar... or both.
* 13 mm socket for the caliper bolts
* 21 mm socket for the front caliper carrier bolts.
* 18 mm socket for the rear caliper carrier bolts
* An 16 mm (or 5/8") and 19 mm box wrench.
* A 1/2" ratchet
* Optional: 3/8" torque wrench with readings in newton-meters.
* A T-30 torx (I THINK - may be T-27 - I can't remember, but pretty sure it's a 30) screwdriver or bit for a 1/4" ratchet.
* one short and one long flat head screwdriver
* A large pry tool - like what you would use for baseboards, for example... or a wide flat head screwdriver.
* A small hook/scribe tool / small flat head screwdriver
* Some wire or a one gallon paint can
* A jack and jack stands (preferably 4 to make your life easy)
* A battery charger/maintainer
* A medium-large sized C-clamp and a small piece of wood - like a 1"x2" or something
* A rubber mallet and optionally a hammer, a sledgehammer is even better.
* Optional: caliper retraction tool for the rear brakes
* Four new rotors, four new pad sets and pair of pad sensors.
* A work light!
* Brake cleaner spray
* Brake grease