Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

A question about window tinting and Audis

Old 11-02-2012, 03:37 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A question about window tinting and Audis

So I'm taking my lovely to Pro-Tint in Savannah tomorrow. When I was on the phone with the guy, he mentioned that since new model Audis lack a felt liner in the window seal, it is very possible that a single grain of sand or grit could scratch a tint job. Is there truth in this?
Old 11-02-2012, 07:12 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I just had mine done yesterday. My guy didn't mention anything about that point. I am not sure personally that a grain of sand could do that, but I am no expert. I know I have had many cars tinted and it seems it is always a persons finger nail or now my wife's ring that will scratch the tint before sand.
Old 11-02-2012, 07:17 PM
AudiWorld Member

Is he suggesting adding felt to the window?
I don't have anything added when I got it tinted. Everything looks good. No issue. In the past, I probably had more damage/scratch from the seatbelt buckle than anything else.
Old 11-03-2012, 03:27 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 35 Likes on 27 Posts

I don't have an Audi yet, but I can tell you that in my wife's BMW 325i her window tint in the back seat windows has been very scratched up from rolling up and down. Apparently, the windows can scrape on the inside of the door panels and over time this can leave scratches and/or streaks in your tint.

The solution is to have the door panels removed before installing the tint, and adding a thin layer of felt fabric to the door panel. That way the windows do not scrape against sharp corners of the panel when they roll down.
Old 11-03-2012, 08:32 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Landstander