Notices
A6 (C7 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C7 Audi A6 produced from 2011 - 2017

Retrofitting front parking camera

Old 09-22-2012, 03:23 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Retrofitting front parking camera

Hello,

I have a 2012 A6, and I always kind of wished I had the new front parking camera that comes with the 2013 models that have the innovation package, as the corner views they provide seem to be quite handy.

Today I accidentally found out kufatec is selling the new front & rear parking cameras: http://www.kufatec.de/shop/en/Audi/A...ear-Audi-A6-4G

The price is a bit expensive, but I have a few other concerns about it other than the price.

I've never retrofitted anything to a car, so I was wondering how difficult would it be if I purchased that kit in the link and tried to install it myself.

Given the fact that I'm a total newbie with retrofitting things, do you think this is something I'd be able to do without much trouble?

Other than the kit above, are there any other things I need to get in order to do the installation? (e.g. special tools)

Also, do Audi dealers provide help with these kind of installations?

Thanks in advance for any input-
Old 09-22-2012, 09:35 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Wow, great find! I wonder if this also includes the Front side and rear side cameras as well? If so, I might be sold on this... I already e-mailed them about that.

It is expensive.

I personally think this might be hard, you may need to remove the wheels to access the side cameras (If they're even included). This being a high-end German car, you have to be extremely delicate with it. I recommend getting help every step otherwise you may break something and do further damage.

I'll personally be consulting with a body shop if I ever get these.

You even have to replace the rear camera with theirs.

Audi dealers would help you, but really depends on your relationship.