A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

2000 A6 2.7T Coolant Drain Plug Location

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2010, 06:16 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2000 A6 2.7T Coolant Drain Plug Location

Greetings!

I just did my timing belt replacement and am about to flush the coolant system before I fill it with Audi coolant. I've been trying to locate the coolant drain plug, but without success.

There is an earlier thread on this forum that has a picture, link, but as I am relatively new to auto repair, I could not figure out which part of the car that picture is showing. I'd like to get some more detailed explanation. Thanks.
The following users liked this post:
newba62.7t (06-21-2019)
Old 07-26-2010, 07:40 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 97 Likes on 74 Posts

The radiator drain is accessible with the bumper off. It's on the left side (driver's side).

The coolant is normally drained by pulling up the clip (you don't need to take it off) on the plastic end of the lower radiator drain hose, near the radiator, and pulling the plastic end of the hose straight off..wiggle a little but don't break off the radiator plastic nipple!

Looking at the link picture and the bentley, I would loosen the golden colored fastener/plug. The greenish plug looks like a socket head cap screw used to fasten something together.
Old 07-27-2010, 04:29 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Main coolant drain or block coolant drain?

The linked thread is talking about the block coolant drain... i wouldn't worry about draining the block unless you mixed coolants or had some oil leak into the cooling system. For a typical coolant change, the radiator petcock or pulling the radiator hose [as sloopjohnB said] does the job.
Old 07-27-2010, 04:51 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post