A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

A6 C5 1.8T AirCon leak (due to main radiator fan "lack of speed/strength")

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2014, 08:35 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A6 C5 1.8T AirCon leak (due to main radiator fan "lack of speed/strength")

Hi guys,

A newbie here. I am at my wits end as I have been without AC for close to 3 months. In my region it is tropical weather and living without the AC is unbearable. My model unfortunately is not that common here.

I went to the AC guy and initially he fixed a leak. However I got my back banged in a minor accident as as a result the AC Econ mode keeps kicking in buy itself. The AC guy reckon it is because the grounding/earthing wires for the pressure sensor are located at the back and he fixed this. He did say there were 2 other grounding/earthing wires located at the back which he had no idea what they were for and he left them alone.

After this was fixed the AC lasted me 2 days before another leak happened which drained me of all my AC coolant. AC guy said he found the discharge of my condenser to be very hot indicating that the fans are not "powerful" enough. Both my Big fan and small fan are still running with the small fan feeling much stronger. When ignition is off. the big fan blades rotates easily with a slight tug. AC guy said possibly fan clutch or whole fan needs to be replaced but he is not familiar enough with the car to take it apart.

I have been reading many audi forums hoping to narrow down the problem but I have not found a case exactly like mine. Would appreciate any input & help I can get here!
Old 11-13-2014, 01:26 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by Victor Soo
Hi guys,