A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004
Old 07-22-2016, 04:16 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:Browse all: Audi A6 (C5) Specifications & General Maintenance
Print Wikipost

2.7t common problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2012, 07:41 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2.7t common problems

Hello , My name is Norm . I live in Alberta Canada
I work for FoMoCO and I only drive german cars.
I am a 4th year ASSET apprentice .
I am a moderator on the TriumphRAT.net forums in the Speed Triple section , My handle there is Dieselgeek .

I did try the search feature of your forum and it seems as broken as the one on my usual site.

The dealership just took a 2000 A6 2.7t in trade with 138,000kms on the clock . New rubber , very very clean. I am lead to believe the maintainance schedule was followed to the letter, but I have not looked at the folder of recipts that came with the car. yet . The price for me 6000$

I will be performing the UVI and I woud like to know what to look for as common failure points and what not.

There is a noise at the front of the engine . Well it seems like the front . It starts at startup and stays , it seems to match the revs , if it does not match it follows . If that makes sense.

I have only been hands on with the car for about 15 mins.
She drives really well , shifts just right and has only a slight vibe at speed , I suspect tire ballance .

I appriciate any and all pointers .

Thanks for your time and efforts .
Norm
Old 05-03-2012, 08:30 PM
AudiWorld Super User

noise at the front like form the belt area? could be a stuck fan clutch or bearing/belt issue
Old 05-03-2012, 08:44 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by Out Of Your Vulcan Mind