A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Heatercore replacement.

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2015, 07:17 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heatercore replacement.

New here.

Thus not my video but looks interesting.
Old 11-30-2015, 04:29 AM
AudiWorld Member

There have actually been previous postings from Tech Guru members with photos of the dash , steering wheel, etc completely removed.
Seems too good to be true.
Maybe the other postings were for removal of the A/C evaporator...
Old 11-30-2015, 04:56 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

I'm no pro, but if there were an issue with the whole system, fans don't work or some other elissue and the whole hvac system needed to come out I could see tearing the dash apart. But just to change out a clogged heater core this seems quite plausible.

Also from the looks of my 2002 A6 2.7t it could be done this way.
Old 11-30-2015, 09:24 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 97 Likes on 74 Posts
Default I can confirm that Audi/eBahn indeed says this is the WAY!

Originally Posted by Ifitbleeds
I'm no pro, but if there were an issue with the whole system, fans don't work or some other elissue and the whole hvac system needed to come out I could see tearing the dash apart. But just to change out a clogged heater core this seems quite plausible.

Also from the looks of my 2002 A6 2.7t it could be done this way.
It's a helluva lot easier than pulling the heater core on my old 1977 Datsun 280Z!
Old 11-30-2015, 09:29 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by SloopJohnB@mac.com
It's a helluva lot easier than pulling the heater core on my old 1977 Datsun 280Z!
So if I'm getting little heat at idle but more cruising would you think it's the heater core or the thermostat?

Car doesn't over heat at all. I have read on other sites about the core getting clogged over time.
Old 11-30-2015, 09:55 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 97 Likes on 74 Posts