A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

Interchange Info. For V6s

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2015, 11:12 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Interchange Info. For V6s

Hey All;

I am new here, and although I owned an '88 90Q some years ago, and have done service on customer cars in the past, I am new to Audi TWEAKING. Arguably the hardest part of Audi enthusiasm is finding info, as there is VERY LITTLE of it out there, other than just basic troubleshooting and repair. In order to try and gain the info I'm seeking, and possibly help other nutcases like me in the future, I'm starting this thread. I'll throw the first bomb.

I have an '02 AVK 3.0. I am trying to find out what I need to install a clutch for driving a standard trans from this engine.

I think I have discovered that the Audi standard transmissions have a bellhousing that is integral to that case. In light of that, I will be making my own bellhousing. Yes?

Clutch - I am aware that 2.7s were equipped with standards in R/S and Allroad cars. I am also aware that 2.8 cars could be had with a standard trans. I have not been able to confirm that any 3.0 cars had them, but I suspect a few did.

It is my understanding that the 3.0 is an upgraded version of the 2.8. I am quite unsure as to how similar the 2.7 is to these two?

The real question; Is the flywheel bolt pattern of any or all of these engines the same? There are all kinds of clutch/flywheel parts available for the 2.7. Can I use these to get a standard trans on my 3.0??
Old 08-05-2015, 11:28 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Yes I have had several 3.0 manual transmission cars in. Just get a clutch and flywheel set for a 3.0 manual trans A4. The engine is the same auto vs manual on 3.0, on 1.8T the crank is different for Autos and wont accept a piolot bearing.