A6 / S6 (C5 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C5 Audi A6 and S6 produced from 1998-2004

New Audi Owner 12 Error Codes - Where does an Audi newbie begin???

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2015, 02:42 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Audi Owner 12 Error Codes - Where does an Audi newbie begin???

Please Help

Bought a 2003 Audi A6 Quattro 3.0 w/175,000 miles Dec 2014
Ran a bit rough but put 6 plugs and 6 coils in and it was fine - had a check Engine light for Oxygen Sensor. Daily commute of over 100 miles and it has been fine. Then about two weeks ago - started to shake and shimmer at idle but ran fine on highway. Now at startup it shakes shimmers and the check engine light flashes. (misfire) I don't want to risk driving it

I am not a mechanic but I can work my way through most things mechanical and remove - replace is fairly simple

Pulled out my super cheap $30 code reader and scanned

12 error codes: Here they are with what I read about them - but where do I start - I have extremely limited funds at this time.

P0741
P0056
P0161
P3081
P0300
P0303
P0304
P0301
P0302
P0102
P0171
P0174

4 Monitors incomplete
CAT
EVAP
SEC Air
o2 Sensr

4 Monitors Ready
misfire
fuel
comp
o2

Here is what I found out but I do not know how to address them - Audi is a different beast than Toyota.. : )

P0741 (Torq conv sel)
P0056 Ho2s Heater Ctrl
P0161 Heat 02 sensor
P3081
P0300 Random Misfire
P0303Cylinder 3 Misfire
P0304 Cylinder 4 Misfire
P0301 Cylinder 1 Misfire
P0302 Cylinder 2 Misfire
P0102
P0171 System too lean
P0174 System too lean

I noticed some vacuum hoses looked odd (soft squishy blue tubing) - I replaced most of them on top of engine - immediately visible to the eye. One very fragile T crumbled in my hand so I replaced it

I wanted to replace the thermostat as temp gauge works intermittently but it looks like someone stripped the Allen screws (suggestions on loosing those would be nice) While doing so I questioned the following part: