A6 / S6 (C6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C6 Audi A6 produced from 2004-present and Audi S6 produced from 2007 - 2011

Thinking of purchasing first Audi

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2016, 10:30 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thinking of purchasing first Audi

Hi, I am close to buying 2007 Audi A6, it has 90k miles on it, going for 11k... What are your guys's thoughts? Will I run into problems with the car will it be a headache? Car fax shows no accidents or problems. What should I look into and is the 90k miles good will it last me for a while? I am a college student but don't live on campus.
Old 08-23-2016, 06:26 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 172 Likes on 162 Posts

Wrong forum.

If you have to pay to have it worked on, you will be poor. If you work on it yourself, your studies will suffer, but you will acquire skills which might keep you from working at McDonalds after you graduate.

Make sure you have a garage stocked with lots of metric tools. Buy a VCDS for diagnosis.

Have lots of cash in the bank for emergencies. Have good credit for the times when you will be renting a car to get to school.

All cars have problems. Some, like Audis, have expensive problems. Some, like Toyota and Honda, have relatively cheap problems.
Old 08-23-2016, 06:46 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default In my opinion, the risk outweighs the reward...

… I love my Audis and have had nine of them, so I am a fan of the marque.

However, you probably have lot's of responsibilities and demands if you are a full time student (I am a college professor in the sciences), so the last thing you need is a troublesome car with expensive problems. The trouble with all German cars is that they are very expensive to repair, complicated and relatively DIY unfriendly (although I remain a dedicated DIY-er).

The mileage on the A6 suggests a timing chain replacement is near as are other rather expensive maintenance - think $3k+