A6 / S6 (C6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C6 Audi A6 produced from 2004-present and Audi S6 produced from 2007 - 2011

2005 Audi A6 4.2 help

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2017, 05:22 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2005 Audi A6 4.2 help

Hi guys, newbie here in AudiWorld. I don't know if I am in the right thread. I recently bought a 2005 Audi A6 4.2 Quattro for $2.7k with 110K miles on it. Before I bought the car my boyfriend came along and brought it to AutoZone to check for any codes and did not find any. Two weeks later I have a check engine light, so I had it checked again in AutoZone, but no code came up. I called an Audi dealer and it costs $170 just to have it checked. The brake job cost about $1000. So I checked around how much will a OBD scanner will cost me and I see different prices ranging from $199 to $899. I am also planning to do a brake job and found out that I will need a VCDS to do this.

Looking at some of the YouTube video in changing the brake pads, it seems that is something my friend an I can do. So I need some help finding what kind of VCDS I need for my car since I am really confused with so many products out there and the questions they ask. Like if my car is US or Euro made if it is a C5 or C6, or allroad or whatever? What extra-ordinary tools and equipment do I need aside from jacks and wrenches and screwdrivers? And if the check engine light turns to be an expensive repair of more than $2k is it worth it since the car is very clean and no rust at all except for some minor nicks and small dents? My friends told me that this car will last if properly maintained. Sorry for the long post, thanks.
Old 03-15-2017, 06:27 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts