A6 / S6 (C6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C6 Audi A6 produced from 2004-present and Audi S6 produced from 2007 - 2011

Adaptive Air Suspension and lack thereof

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2021, 10:25 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Adaptive Air Suspension and lack thereof

Hi all

First time poster here and a complete newbie to the wonderful world of Audi. I recently bought a 2008 Audi A6 Allroad 3.0L TDi. The dealer said that an issue with the suspension had cropped up shortly after taking possession of the car. A friend with me, who was encouraging me to buy it, had his laptop with the VCDS diagnostic along, confirmed that the suspension issue did indeed only crop up quite recently. I bought the car thinking that it shouldn't be a huge challenge to get it sorted and worth it considering the spec.
We managed to adjust the setting to Lift but then it locked out as all the other suspension options greyed out and the flashing amber car symbol came on. Driving the two hours home the car was stuck in said setting and every catseye and minor blip in the road felt jarring as if I'd hit a major pothole.

A few days ago I got the car to an electrics wiz who also used the VCDS diagnostic but unfortunately nothing was showing up for suspension. Just a rear door issue and a couple of glowplug error codes. He temporarily swapped out the Valve block for an older used one, checked the compressor and sensors but couldn't find anything untoward. Two hours later we left with nothing much achieved.