A6 / S6 (C6 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the C6 Audi A6 produced from 2004-present and Audi S6 produced from 2007 - 2011

Worth the risk?

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2014, 03:22 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Worth the risk?

I've had a soft spot for the C6 A6 models ever since they came out. Noticed one sitting by the road on my daily commute and it piqued my curiosity. Heres a link to the craigslist ad: http://fortwayne.craigslist.org/cto/4673014581.html

It's a 2005, 178k miles, but is REALLY nice cosmetic condition inside and out. I've stopped and looked at it in person and you'd never guess it has the miles it does. The catch? They got a shop quote for $6k+ to fix. Shop wants to pull and replace all timing related stuff.

Now.....I am an ASE certified tech. Not scared of this type of work by any means. The owner is willing to let me briefly start it to grab a quick listen to see if it sounds like one or both upper tensioners went. He is also willing to let me run a quick compression test on it.

If the signs point to tensioners and the compression test comes back ok, I will probably buy it because i know thats a one day fix and about $800 in parts and tools. If the compression test hints towards bent valves........I'm not sure I want to get it because I'd have to pull the motor at that point.

My question.......with the mileage, if its just the tensioners, do you think it would be worth picking up? How reliable are the transmission and differentials on these, or how pricey to fix/replace? Other issues i should take into consideration? Thanks in advance everyone.
Old 09-21-2014, 04:39 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 97 Likes on 74 Posts

I wouldn't buy a 178K audi with ZF trans that hasn't had the trans fluid changed. It's just a matter of time.
Audi says lifetime fill…ZF says to change the fluid 30-50K miles.