A7 Discussion forum for the Audi A7

Dealer can't program key fob?

Old 05-26-2016, 08:39 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dealer can't program key fob?

Looking for some input. I lost my only key fob, thankfully I had the plastic emergency key, otherwise I would have to tow it.

I bought 2 replacement key fobs on eBay. They are used from previous Audis.

The rep at the dealership told me that the tech tried to program them, but that it kept kicking him out of the software because those key fobs are already registered to another Audi's VIN and won't allow him to program them to my car (2013 A7).

I do programming for a living so not sure why this is an issue. Shouldn't he be able to clear or override that? Has anyone else had a used key programmed to their current car?

Appreciate any input.

Thanks!
Old 05-26-2016, 06:10 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by kamek89
Looking for some input. I lost my only key fob, thankfully I had the plastic emergency key, otherwise I would have to tow it.

I bought 2 replacement key fobs on eBay. They are used from previous Audis.

The rep at the dealership told me that the tech tried to program them, but that it kept kicking him out of the software because those key fobs are already registered to another Audi's VIN and won't allow him to program them to my car (2013 A7).

I do programming for a living so not sure why this is an issue. Shouldn't he be able to clear or override that? Has anyone else had a used key programmed to their current car?

Appreciate any input.

Thanks!
Audi hosts a database of parts associated with the VIN they were originally shipped with. The database is shared with NCIS to prevent a black market in stolen parts. Even new OEM electronic parts (MMI controllers, ECM modules, TCM's, etc) must be electronically unlocked by the dealer using Audi's software.
Old 05-27-2016, 07:52 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts