A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

* S8 NO HEAT *

Old 10-06-2014, 07:52 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default * S8 NO HEAT *

** NEWBIE HERE **

2001 S8, dash fans all work at all speeds but car insists on only blowing cold air. Flushed the heater core and not much dirty liquid came out. refilled the coolant to the right height (made sure no air was in there) and drove it around but still only cold air.

Anyone got any ideas? I know heater core unit replacements cost a lot because it's such a pain to get to. NEED HEAT FOR THIS UP COMING WINTER!
Old 10-06-2014, 09:35 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Whats the engine temperature like? Is it running cold?

How did you flush the heater core?
The D2 has two heater cores. They are actually relatively easy to remove compared to other cars I've owned, though only if you have to!
Old 10-06-2014, 10:29 PM
AudiWorld Junior Member

they have two heater cores??? the one i flushed was very easy to get to
I back flushed and flushed this one (pictures) using just water from a gardening hose. Engine temp is fine, its exactly where it should be even after driving around. on a side note before i bought the car, the dealership that had it had replaced the thermostat.

the hoses to the right

top is inlet. bottom is outlet
Old 10-07-2014, 02:40 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

They're the bleeder screws.
The two hoses on the plenum side lead to a small electric pump (Rest mode on the climate will run this with the engine off).
Four hoses come off the pump to the heater cores which are either side of the HVAC air intake (centre top of your first pic - should have a plastic mesh grill on top).

Flushing the hoses from the bleed screws may only flush as far as the pump.