A8 / S8 (D2 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D2 Audi A8 and S8 produced from 1994-2002
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stutter when going uphill

Old 01-19-2011, 09:14 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stutter when going uphill

I am seeking some diagnostic help for an issue I've noticed in my new (to me) D2 S8. In general, it runs quite smooth (smoother than any other car I've owned), but there is a very steep hill right before my house and I've noticed that every time I start going up this hill I feel a slight stutter (not enough to rattle, just slight shaking). If I pull off the gas a bit the stutter stops and then I can accelerate again and it's mostly fine (occasionally it will stutter again towards the top of the hill and I pull off the gas again). I don't see this stutter anywhere else (I drove around today, including highways, to see if I could detect anything).

I'm new to working on cars (or diagnosing), so I guess I'm really asking for general pointers and things to try so I can gather more data on this and hopefully figure out what is causing it. Any ideas?
Old 01-20-2011, 06:17 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

May not be much help, but try to isolate what gear you are in when stutter occurs...more than 1 gear?
When it starts, switch to tip to determine the gear...plus observe if the stutter continues.
Old 01-21-2011, 02:26 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

It's in 3rd gear. I switched at the beginning of the hill and went the whole way up in 3rd gear, and the stutter came at the usual point in the hill.

I'm going to flush/refill the transmission fluid next week (needed to get done anyway) and see if there is any improvement.
Old 01-21-2011, 06:10 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Flush? Debatable if beneficial in these transmissions, esp at high mileage.