A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Air box question

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2016, 10:36 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air box question

Hey im new to the audi world lol. Im trying to connect my air filter box to the bumper tube so it can get fresh air instead of engins bay heat. There is a little black adapter that is missing on my A8. Does anyone know what this piece would be called??
Old 07-24-2016, 05:50 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts

Engine Air Intake Hose. Intake hose.

Part Number: 4E0129627H
Old 07-25-2016, 09:28 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

https://www.ecstuning.com/ES382361/

I just bought one a few months ago to install after finding my original one to be torn. The new ones aren't any less of a PITA to install.
Old 07-25-2016, 11:00 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 29 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Replaced mine a year ago

Originally Posted by Bobby Mckee
Hey im new to the audi world lol. Im trying to connect my air filter box to the bumper tube so it can get fresh air instead of engins bay heat. There is a little black adapter that is missing on my A8. Does anyone know what this piece would be called??
On my 2005 the air box has to be pulled to change the oil filter.
The original was deformed and was a 30 minute job to reinstall. Usually it was shifted and not sealing again at the next oil change.
Finally purchased a new one and was a little fiddley getting it installed correctly the first time.
After a few heat soaks it set in the proper shape and reinstalling is a 3 minute job. Sure beats fighting the old one.
Just verify a new one is installed properly the first time. If not after many heat cycles it may set in the wrong shape.
Old 07-27-2016, 07:48 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by Panelhead