A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brake Pads light came on...what brand to replace pads with?

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2015, 07:48 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake Pads light came on...what brand to replace pads with?

well, I knew this was coming for a few months now..cause my breaks have started to squeal very often. however, my brake pads indicator came on yesterday. What brand of pads does everyone recommend I go with? Should I just go to autozone, oreilly, etc and pickup w/e they have or go with a better aftermarket brand from online?

Also, I have a VAG-COM..but, I am very new to the VAG...i am assuming it will tell me which brake pads need to be replaced?? I will hook the VAG up once i get off work, today..

Lastly, I haven't changed brake pads in about 10 years..but I am familiar with how to do it...but, are there any special tools I will need for the Audi? I know the front brakes use dual pistons..so, i can't just use a standard large pliers..what should i use?? Thanks
Old 03-05-2015, 09:20 AM
Banned

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default I go OEM at the dealer

check out some post from Louis.

https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a8-...sport-2849517/

And get the tool that Misha linked.

https://www.audiworld.com/forums/a8-...6-a8l-2866173/

Johnny J J
Old 03-05-2015, 09:30 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

I have a 2007 A8L Quattro. My senor on the dash prompted me too. My brakes don't squeak (fingers crossed) yet. I did run my fingers over the rotors (Front and back) to see if there was a lip at the edge and low and behold, there was.

I just got these in the mail this week. They have the senors too
(Audi D3 A8 Quattro 4.2 Braking Pads - HB687Z.750 - Front Performance Ceramic Brake Pad Set - ES#2627846)

It's recommended to replace the rotors too.