A8 / S8 (D3 Platform) Discussion Discussion forum for the D3 Audi A8 produced from 2003-2010 and Audi S8 produced from 2006-2010
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

D.I.Y. Timing Belt Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2015, 10:04 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default D.I.Y. Timing Belt Replacement

Audi A8 D3 4.2l v8 Timing Belt Job

Disclaimer: I am not a certified Mechanic and any information given here is use at your own risk. also I am horrible at spelling.

Hey everyone, I have only found a few walkthroughs for the Timing belt on the D3 A8 4.2l so I am Going to do this write up to hopefully guide anyone who plans to take on this project themselves.

Approximate Job Time for a Competent Mechanic ~7-10hrs

Tools Used
-24mm Wrench

-8mm allen socket
-5mm allen socket

-8mm allen wrench
-5mm allen wrench

-T30 Torx socket
-T25 Torx socket
-T20 Torx socket

-3/4" Socket
-18mm Socket
-16mm Socket
-13mm Socket
-12mm Socket
-10mm Deep well Socket

(3)-3"extensions
- 10"extension

1/4",3/8",1/2" drive ratchets

-Audi Trunk Screwdriver
-Leatherman
-Long (10") flat head screwdriver
-Razor blade
-Vise Grips
-Floor Jack
(2)-Car Stands
-Lots of Gloves

Specialty Tool that ARE NEEDED

Cam Lock bar (T40005)
Tensioner adjustment key (T40009)
Crankshaft holder (3242)
Dampener Pin (T40011) you can use a small allen wrench in place of this.
Cam gear puller (T40001)

Parts Needed
You can use whatever parts you want but this is what I used and so far have not had any problems

From ECS Tuning;

-Serpentine Belt (continental) $28.67
-Serpentine belt Idler pulley (larger one) $62.91
-ECS Timing Belt Kit (standard continental) $191.98
(2)-Gallon G13 genuine Audi coolant $47.56 ($23.78 each)

Total $331.12 free shipping

From Audiusaparts.com

-Refurb Water Pump $181.43
-Thermostat $37.01
-Thermostat Gasket $2.41
-Dampener $131.59

Total $352.44 +shipping

Total Parts cost-$683.56

+ 2gal of distilled water~$2

Ok so Time to Start.