A8 / S8 (D4 Platform) Discussion Discussion Forum for the D4 Audi A8 Produced from 2010-2017 Audi S8 produced from 2012-2017
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2012 A8 Low Speed Vibration

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2015, 07:08 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2012 A8 Low Speed Vibration

Hi everyone. I'm new to the Audi world and have a problem with my new-to-me A8 L and hoping some Audi expert can help.

I have a 2012 A8 L with 43K miles and new 20" Pirelli P-Zero all-season tires. Between 35 and 45 MPH I get a vibration that I feel in the drivers' seat. There is no strange noise, and the vibration is constant, but has a rhythm to it. below and above those speeds the car is smooth.

I went to the dealer and paid for an alignment, road-force balance, and rotation. The vibration is still present.

The dealer puts all the blame on the tires, but before I go spending my hard earned money, I wanted to put this out to the Audi World experts. Could it be the tires? Maybe a half-shaft or drive-shaft issue? Any help is appreciated.

Thank you!
Tim
Old 12-15-2015, 08:12 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 48 Likes on 31 Posts

Tim,

A vibration (tire related) that you feel in the seat is usually the rear tires.

Move (swap) the rears to the front and see if the vibration goes away or moves to the steering wheel.

Or, better yet, do you have anyone close by you that would be willing to swap tires (and of course wheels) with you for a test drive to see if that fixes it all together.

Mike
Old 12-15-2015, 08:48 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 25 Likes on 19 Posts

Originally Posted by TimInNOVA
Hi everyone. I'm new to the Audi world and have a problem with my new-to-me A8 L and hoping some Audi expert can help.