A8 / S8 (D4 Platform) Discussion Discussion Forum for the D4 Audi A8 Produced from 2010-2017 Audi S8 produced from 2012-2017
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Common issues with the A8?

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2017, 05:18 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Common issues with the A8?

Hey guys,

First post newbie here... lol

Coming from the land of Lexus I am not too familiar with the A8's quirks and common issues. I am looking to buy a 13 or 14 A8 L. Honestly, the 3.0 is probably sufficient for my needs but the 4.0 is tempting. I am coming from the LS series and quite familiar with their issues and how they drive / reliability. Can you guys comment on common issues and if you believe paying extra to get a CPO is worth it? Thanks in advance.
Old 02-11-2017, 05:39 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 21 Likes on 16 Posts

I was comparing LS and A8 and after driving both, I bought a new A8, even though I was looking for a CPO car. Two entirely different driving vehicles. The A8 is a drivers car and you get a lot more for the same amount of money with the A8. I have the 3.0T and it has more than enough torque for this old guy. I cannot comment on A8 common issues. I will be buying an aftermarket warranty just to cover myself, as I intend to keep this car for a long time.
Old 02-11-2017, 05:54 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

I totally agree that the LS is not a "drivers" car in that it is not as engaging and sporty. It's not designed to be either so you really can't fault it for this. It is exceptionally reliable though and this really is my main focus. I also like Audi's interior better. I am leaning towards getting a CPO. Just not knowing the vehicle / cost maintenance and parts has me a little concerned. I do want to keep it until 150 - 200k miles.
Old 02-11-2017, 07:11 AM
AudiWorld Member