A8 / S8 (D4 Platform) Discussion Discussion Forum for the D4 Audi A8 Produced from 2010-2017 Audi S8 produced from 2012-2017
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Member, with A8L - former S-Class driver

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2015, 04:50 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by AG6
I would be curious to know your thoughts on comfort between the two cars. I am an s class driver and am thinking of the A8 or S8.

Need to know if suspension comfort is similar. Also does Audi have acoustic glass like the S, double glass.
I drove 3-year leased S-Class models for over 20 years and because Mercedes Canada couldn't get delivery (ordered Nov2013) I agreed to extend the lease for a fourth year...and when that was up they still didn't have the car I ordered a year before. So, reluctantly, in Oct14 I started looking at other upscale vehicles and selected the A8L because it was the only one they had for immediate delivery. I took it as is and they sweetened the price and extras to the point it was about $500 a month less on the lease and a much lower buyback. I would never had ordered the massage seats at Mercedes, a $4600 option, but it came with this one and I love it. There are other gadgets on the Audi I probably wouldn't have ordered, but glad I got them now.

In spite of the comparative specs I am convinced the Mercedes had wider seats, based on my overweight frame...and absolutely hate having to stop the car, open the door and adjust the seats or the massage function...instead of on the door like the Mercedes. I would think from that the A8L is narrower. Cars are equivalent in soundproofing.