First Audi

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2016, 09:16 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Audi

Hi All,
Needed a winter ride, Found this 1988 audi 5000 cs quattro turbo avant (wagon)
I just had to learn about pentosyn - what my 1988 audi likes for coolant. Runs on 20w50 vr1 oil . and mobil 1 20w50 in winter (according to previous owner - I haven't changed oil yet) What type of oil do you use? what weight?

SO I am new to Audi in all ways really. What kind of stuff do i need to know, and i know thats a broad question but... well somethings gonna break ..
what can I do to modify and continue this goat's quest to becoming a real snow machine? What are preventative maintenance steps to do? this car has close to 300,000 miles Good upgrades - like the headlights have already been done with increased gauge wires.

Previous owner did this:
within the past 10k miles or so:
-Timing Belt, idler and water pump (Contitech/Graf)
-Valve cover gasket replaced
-Silicone Vac lines
-quad headlights with upgraded wiring and relays
-Custom front bumper with d-rings, built in snub mount, skidplate
-VDO boost gauge
-Oil pressure gauge

And in the past 2k miles or so:
-Full tune up with Bosch plugs, cap, and rotor
-Mann oil filter and Valvoline VR-1 20w-50
-Alignment at Tom's Alignment

The car has also been modded :
-QLCC (quattro list chip club) 2bar chip, providing 14.5psi of 80's turbo goodness; about 230hp
-Upgraded wastegate spring
-Strapped Intercooler (protect from hoses blowing off? reinforced)
-Bosch BPV (Bypass Valve)
-UrS6 springs, providing an increase in spring rate and a slight lift (.75-1")
-Bilstein HD rear shocks
-Boge Turbo front shocks
-New passenger wheel bearing
-7" LED fog lights on front bumper activated with foot switch just left of the clutch pedal. (keeps both hands on the wheel!)

Thanks guys n gals, Im open to all feedback, teach me what you know of the audi as I can't really forsee giving it up - its ridiculous fun

-andrew