1994 Audi Cabriolet Convertible Problems

Old 02-22-2015, 02:37 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1994 Audi Cabriolet Convertible Problems

Hello all!

I am still a newbie with both car repair and this forum, but I am really eager to learn. I have a 1994 Audi Cabriolet and I have a couple of problems that I'm trying to sort out, hopefully you guys will be willing to help me.

1. My passenger side suspension is not exactly in the best shape and I need to replace it. I brought it to the mechanic and he said that it would cost $1000+ to get one straight from Germany. I heard that VW and Audi parts are interchangeable, so I was wondering if I would be able to pick up the part locally (Canada). Are there any compatible models for the 1994 Cabrio? I've tried searching, but to no avail.

2. (Biggest problem) The convertible, is a big headache. Anyways, my convertible isn't working at all (If I follow all the prerequisites and then begin pressing the convertible button, nothing happens; no sound; nothing. I think the fuse it blown, if I am correct?) So, lately, I have tried to open it manually. But I have this huge problem with what I think is a Central Locking system problem. I can't even turn the "T-Latch" without doing the manual way (sticking the key into the hole behind the sun visor, thanks Rusty Spokes!) Anyways, after unlocking the FRONT top half and pushing it up. The back end of the convertible top doesn't move up at all. I heard that it was supposed to move with the hydraulics, but nothing happens. So I think that it is still locked with the whole car. (I've tried with the car on and off, same problem).

If any of you guys have any suggestion, I would greatly appreciate it. I love this car, but it is a true pain in the *** when it comes to repairing ahaha.

Thanks a lot!
Old 02-22-2015, 10:25 PM
AudiWorld Super User

what is actually wrong with your front suspension and what parts need to be replaced?
Old 02-22-2015, 10:41 PM