Looking to buy a 90 with Quattro

Old 05-04-2013, 06:55 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking to buy a 90 with Quattro

Hi all,

I'm trying to find a budget car with decent AWD for some local rallycross. The Quattro system with locking rear diff looks fantastic. Unfortunately most cars on Craigslist are well maintained with 150k to 200k miles and people are asking mid 3's for them. What I would really like is to spend money on a solid engine while I could care less what the exterior looks like. Any suggestions for how to find such a car. I'm also curious what you think a decent sale price would be for is for one of these tired but well-maintained 90's.
Old 05-04-2013, 09:31 PM
AudiWorld Member

I'm by no means an expert, but what you seek would be an elusive car. A car where the owner has taken care of the engine and drive train very well, but let the body and interior deteriorate and would therefore sell it cheap. Unfortunately, it seems most owners of cars in the sub $2000 range tend to be the type with the opposite owner expenditure plan. The engines are smoking and clanking, but they have a $1500 stereo thumping away while riding down the road on $4000 worth of wheels and tires.

The Quattro system is stout and worthy, but you're looking for a small percentage owner these days willing to put money into the drivetrain rather than the all important cosmetics.

DougM
Old 05-05-2013, 08:37 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Thanks IdahoDoug, that more or less confirms my suspicions. So basically I'll have to find one that's reasonably maintained all the way around (nothing wrong with that). So my next question is what is a decent price for a 1995 200k mike car that appears to have had all the important servicing done regularly?
Old 05-05-2013, 10:02 AM
AudiWorld Member

I would say mid to high 2k is a fair price. If you have a know how you can convert the fwd cars to quattro, but it is a LOT of work.
Old 05-05-2013, 12:01 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer