New owner: Audi 1994 Cabrio

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2015, 02:05 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New owner: Audi 1994 Cabrio

Picked up my first Audi today, a 1994 Cabriolet, and I have a few questions/need some direction. Let me preface that I am by no means a mechanic, but have owned a handful of euro classics both Mercedes and BMW. I picked this one up because I haven't seen many ever and want to make sure it has a good home.

About the car: 1 owner, 150k miles, some surface rust (all repairable) was garaged most of its life. Runs okay, drives straight, body its okay and the pearl white paint still shines.

Issues/need help with:

1) The radiator fans don't shut off after you turn off the car (will run indefinitely until I cut the battery). My diagnosis is either bad relays or a bad temp sensor.

2) Rear zip out window is trashed, thoughts on replacing this?

3) Where is a good place to source some good parts online?

4) What are common issues for this 2.8l V6 engine? What should I go through and replace...I have no records for this car. I want to so as much preventative maintenance as possible.

5) Rear shocks are shot, where do you recommend I go from aftermarket suspension (I would like to drop 0.5"-0.75" front and 0.75"-1" rear)

6) Can someone link me to a good online repair manual for this model.

7) Any other tid-bits or advice are welcome.

Thanks all!
Old 04-30-2015, 04:41 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 31 Likes on 31 Posts