Audi A3 / S3 / RS 3 MKII Discussion forum for the 2015 to 2022 Audi A3, S3 and RS3 - including the upcoming E-tron and TDI models

2015 S3 on Track

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2015, 05:35 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2015 S3 on Track

This weekend, I took my S3 to Summit Point raceway, located in West Virginia. Drove the main circuit which is 2.0 miles long and has 10 turns.

I have been driving on road circuits for 13 years, and have on the order of 150 to 200 track days worth of experience. I have a race prepared Porsche 944 turbo that I normally take to the track.

The S3 is an all wheel drive car, and I drove it with the 19" Audi Wheels and magnetic suspension. My S3 is bone stock. I had the car in Sport Mode and Dynamic Mode.

On the racetrack, the S3 had more understeer than I had hoped. I previously drove my 2002 Audi C5 A6 on the track, and of course that car had a lot of understeer.

The S3 has 2 levels of stability control. With stability control on, the car was not a lot of fun on the track, and the traction control system was very active trying to keep the car staight. With the ESP Off button pressed once, the ESP was less intrusive, but the car was pretty strict on not applying power as the car was doing a little sliding around corners.

With the ESP button pressed and held for 3 second, I could apply power through any of the corners I wanted, except of turn 1 which was at the end of the main straight. With my trail braking/sharp turn in, even with the stability control set to its least intrusive position, I had at least 2 second from when I pressed the throttle until the engine responded. This was the only corner on the track which had this issue with ESP not permitting power to be applied.