Audi A3 / S3 / RS 3 MKII Discussion forum for the 2015 to 2022 Audi A3, S3 and RS3 - including the upcoming E-tron and TDI models

hesitation normal for audi?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2016, 07:42 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hesitation normal for audi?

Hello,

Im new to Audi brand. I just purchased a brand new 2015 Audi 2.0 Cab and love it to death...my only question is, is it normal for a slight hesitation when stepping on the gas, then sudden acceleration?
Old 05-28-2016, 03:51 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Ease into the throttle and it will not be as noticeable. Some call it "turbo-lag" and it is inherent in the four cylinder turbo charged drivetrains. You'll get used to it.
Old 05-28-2016, 05:43 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 234 Likes on 171 Posts

You feel it because the transmission up shifts so quickly you are out of the power band and the turbo doesn't spool instantly so you have to wait for that. Put it in Sport and it will mostly be gone as the RPMs won't drop below 2k.
Old 05-28-2016, 06:34 AM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Thanks!
Old 05-28-2016, 01:26 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 61 Likes on 56 Posts

Both you and the transmission will adapt during your next 1000 miles so you won't have perceived turbo lag. Best of luck with your new cab.
Old 05-28-2016, 07:05 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Originally Posted by SYMAWD
You feel it because the transmission up shifts so quickly you are out of the power band and the turbo doesn't spool instantly so you have to wait for that. Put it in Sport and it will mostly be gone as the RPMs won't drop below 2k.
This...

On normal drive, the turbo lag is pretty awful. It also upshift too fast to save fuel. It's pretty annoying that I have to reset the ECU very often.
Old 05-29-2016, 08:41 AM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 51 Likes on 46 Posts
Default Resetting ECU

Originally Posted by shansoft
This...