Audi A3 / S3 / RS 3 MKII Discussion forum for the 2015 to 2022 Audi A3, S3 and RS3 - including the upcoming E-tron and TDI models

How can I install a hitch on my 2015 A3?

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2016, 11:06 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How can I install a hitch on my 2015 A3?

There seem to be plenty of blog posts and videos about older model Audi A3s, but very few about the newer models. In those models, this involves taking off the ENTIRE back bumper, which is a bit much for me to try on my own. I'm not sure if the body changes that much (2012 sportback versus 2015 sedan), but I'm not experienced enough to know.

Any instructions/experience in installing one yourselves? How difficult was it? Are there instructions anywhere?

Thank you for your collective wisdom!
Old 07-19-2016, 06:27 AM
AudiWorld Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by redmumba
There seem to be plenty of blog posts and videos about older model Audi A3s, but very few about the newer models. In those models, this involves taking off the ENTIRE back bumper, which is a bit much for me to try on my own. I'm not sure if the body changes that much (2012 sportback versus 2015 sedan), but I'm not experienced enough to know.

Any instructions/experience in installing one yourselves? How difficult was it? Are there instructions anywhere?

It's a completely different chassis. From what I have seen, install on a 2015 A3 is fairly easy. I recommend checking out etrailer.com
Old 07-25-2016, 12:59 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

I bought this: https://amzn.com/B00KB6Y6XA

My brother-in-law and I put it on in about 30min. Easy-peasy. The instructions are well done and it's very straight forward. Don't have to remove anything...
Old 09-07-2016, 10:27 AM
Audiworld Junior Member