Audi A5 / S5 / RS5 Coupe & Cabrio (B8) Discussion forum for the B8 Audi A5, S5 and RS5 Coupe and Cabriolet Model years 2009 - 2017

Rear ended

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2015, 03:46 PM
AudiWorld Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Rear ended

So on the way to IKEA yesterday (I know, what was I thinking) this happened:

Dumb chick stops abruptly after accelerating at end of off ramp while merging into traffic. I stop. The guy behind me in a crappy accord, doesn't.

He asked if we can avoid insurance, since my damage is minimal.
I want this little blemish fixed to look like new, as the car is less than three months old. If I can tell it's there after its fixed, I'll be bummed.

It *appears* my damage is only paint deep, but I'm no expert. Does it look like the bumper and diffuser can be tepaired, or will one or both need replacement?

I don't want to jam this guy up, but want to make sure this gets fixed to my satisfaction.
What should I do? Work with the guy, or have the insurance companies hash it out?
Attached Images  
Old 07-26-2015, 04:57 PM
AudiWorld Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Picture is not too clear. Nevertheless, I'd work with the guy and not involve insurance. If it gets reported as a minor accident repair on Carfax, the car will have a diminished value stigma. Not good at trade in or re-selling.
Old 07-26-2015, 05:21 PM
Head Cat Herder

Received 85 Likes on 48 Posts

It's your call if you want to avoid insurance, but he hit you, not the other way around. Personally, on a brand new car, I'm getting it fixed professionally. Yes, it *might* be only paint deep, but there are lots of little brackets and stuff behind those bumper skins.. I'd at least want a qualified body shop have a look.
Old 07-27-2015, 10:46 AM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 35 Likes on 35 Posts