Audi allroad Discussion forum for the original Audi allroad

FrankenAllRoad Build

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2016, 08:09 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FrankenAllRoad Build

Hey Guys,

I'm new to the AllRoad community but I'm a life long VAG enthusiast.

Last fall I started collecting AllRoads & parts as a new project for the winter. I've built many VAG card and done many motor swaps in the past but this is my first 2.7t build.

The goal is to build a reliable(relative I know), 2.7t AllRoad for my wife to haul around our dogs and food cart. So far here's what I've collected:

- '01 AllRoad with blown motor and Tiptronic tranny but clean body. It's also got a full HD static suspension swap and tow kit.
- '02 AllRoad with running motor(163k), presumably working Tiptronic and blown airbags.
- A6 manual transmission swap, presumably all the parts are there.

I've gutted the '02 donor car, pulled the drivetrain from the '01 and cleaned out the body and I'm ready to start refreshing the 163k motor. So far I plan to replace the following items:

- Timing belt
- water pump
- Head gasket and all gaskets above the head
- Any broken vacuum hoses from the spaghetti of both motors
- Clutch & Flywheel
- All fluids & filters

As I start to tear apart the motor, my first question is what else should I replace while I have the motor out and everything pulled apart?

Any advice is much appreciated. Pics to follow soon...

Thanks,
Chris
Old 01-25-2016, 08:38 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

To what capacity is the motor, "blown"?
Old 01-25-2016, 08:59 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Originally Posted by Haulroad
To what capacity is the motor, "blown"?
The motor ran when I pulled it from the donor car. I couldn't drive it as the bags were totally blown but it revved, idled and started fine. I just want to have as close to a bulletproof motor as possible starting this build. I do also have a spare motor that has an obviously blown head gasket and is seized up.