I will take 100% blame & responsibily for those that couldn't log onto the ACNA site.

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2008, 02:08 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I will take 100% blame & responsibily for those that couldn't log onto the ACNA site.

Not many people know that I'm the webmaster for the ACNA website, which I've been working on since 2001, when I took it over from Darin Nederhoff.

At that time, myself, Jon Linkov and a couple of others ran the site, but for the past few years it's really only me that keeps it going. One of the ladies in the ACNA office has the ability to add content and make changes to the front end, but nothing on the back end.

I don't spent too much time working on the website and generally only add items when asked by the office. For the record, I do bill the Club my hours and I am paid for the time I spend on the Club's website, although I consider it 50% volunteer. In the past two years I don't know if I've spent 80hrs total working on the site.

Having said that, the log-in issues that have happened in the past week or so <b>have been completely my fault and nobody within the ACNA organization or the current BOD has had anything to do with the recent website troubles.</b>

The basic explanation is that what should have been a fairly standard software upgrade, turned into a very big pile of worms - of course it had to happened "now" - where two months from now nobody would probably have even noticed.

The ACNA website uses the Joomla Content Management System software to run the website. We were using version 1.0.11, which is a version about 2 years old.

For various reasons, I made the decision to upgrade our current version of Joomla, which has always gone smoothly in the past for this and other sites I run that use Joomla.