Audi Original "S" Cars Discussion forum for the Audi Audi Ur S4, Ur S6, S2 & RS2

94 UR S4 ECU fuse instantly pops

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2014, 10:48 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 94 UR S4 ECU fuse instantly pops

Hello all. i know i'm new here, but not new to Audis VWs or cars in general. I bought the car as a non runner. so unfortunately i have no first hand knowledge of it ever running. I'm grateful to this forum for all of the information i've accrued along the way in diagnosing and eventually finding this problem. unfortunately, i'm upset there may be no inexpensive solution.

Here's the problem. as soon as i connect the negative on the battery, the 5a ECU fuse instantly blows (this is what was causing, or part of, my crank no start problem with the car). i was reading on here about a fella who was asking if these ECUs can be bench tested somehow. He called his ECU a "deadshort" ecu, because like mine, it would instantly blow that 5a fuse as soon as the ecu is connected.

Any help on this matter is appreciated. if there are any further diagnostic tips i should go thru, i'll do so and respond ASAP. thank you again.
-Errol
Old 07-06-2014, 10:57 AM
Audiworld Junior Member

for reference The ECU p/n is 4A0 907 551 AA
Old 07-06-2014, 04:02 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

The problem is might be a bare coil wire just where they enter under the "20V Turbo" coil cover is shorting out. The switched ECU power is in the yellow fuse holder. If it is the 5Amp fuse, you might have an ECU that was drowned by water and has now corroded and is shorting out internally. If this is the case, you might be able to get Steve Eiche in Armada CO to fix it (for $$), otherwise you'll need a good used ECU.

Check out this link: https://www.audiworld.com/forums/sho...&highlight=ecu

Old 07-06-2014, 05:39 PM
Audiworld Junior Member