Audi Original "S" Cars Discussion forum for the Audi Audi Ur S4, Ur S6, S2 & RS2

Easier car to live with: UrS4/S6 or B5 A4 1.8TQ?

Old 11-20-2014, 12:06 PM
AudiWorld Newcomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Easier car to live with: UrS4/S6 or B5 A4 1.8TQ?

I currently have an '02 A4 3.0Q MT6 that is a great car to drive, but drives me nuts with the CEL going off when I need to get the car smogged (I live in CA). It's gotten to be where I just want to sell this car and replace it with something easier to live with. I am a reasonably competent amateur mechanic with above average diag skills, and prefer to do most of my own work. So, the cars I am considering are the two cars shown in the title.

I LOVE the UrS4/S6 and have always wanted one. My wife and I used to have a '93 100CSQ that was our all time favorite car, and the S4/S6 is a more powerful and sportier version of this car. The plus side is that it's pre-OBDII and *should* be easier to pass smog. The drivetrain is very durable and simpler than the 30V V6 I have to deal with now. It is an older car, though, with likely more wear out parts to deal with.

I've also always loved the B5 A4's, and the 1.8TQ is a simpler car than what I have now. It is OBDII and possibly a pain point when smog is due, but there are less sensors and stuff. I would think it's easier to work on than the V6's. There are also a LOT to choose from around here, and price will be less than the S4/S6 (and likely less than what I can sell my A4 for once I get it to pass smog!).

I also love the '88-'91 90Q or coupe Q's as I currently have an '88. It's a simple car with simple needs. These are getting very hard to find in a condition that hasn't been beaten to an inch of it's life.

I figure I'd post in this forum as the audience is likely to be more familiar with both cars than in the B5 forum.