Audi Original "S" Cars Discussion forum for the Audi Audi Ur S4, Ur S6, S2 & RS2

Newbie wastegate spring question???

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2008, 04:32 PM
Audiworld Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie wastegate spring question???

So I am new to the 5 cylinder 20v turbo engine and I had a question...bear with me here as I explain:

I have a 93 S4 that is chipped - the previous owner states the car has an MRC stage 1 chip with a 2.9 bar tranducer...When I bought the car he said its around 280hp with 330 torque. Car has stock turbo, stock EM, headers and exhaust. Engine is also stock. The car is boosting between 17 and 23psi (if weather is hot it boosts 23 if cold below 20psi) A friend of mine who owns an UrS6 told me I should put a 1.9 bar spring in the wastegate to make the car even faster....So I got one from 034 motorsports and installed it. The car was boosting 25 to 27psi... And I started thinking thats too much for a stock turbo and stock motor, so I ended up taking it off.

My question is on my current stock and chipped setup is there any danger of runing the 1.9bar spring in the wastegate and boosting so much???? I am planning to build the motor and virtually the whole car in the future but dont have the funds yet....so simply put...

Can this $45 1.9 bar spring eventually lead to bigger problems if used with current set up???

thanks
-Emil
Old 06-10-2008, 04:53 PM
AudiWorld Super User

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Sounds like your waste gate frequency valve isn't working properly or ...

you had the 1.9 bar spring adjustment screwed down to far because the ECU should have be able continue to limit your boost to 23 psi as before. The benefit of the 1.9 bar spring is to get up to full boost faster, without any concerns about wastegate creep.

My car has most of the RS2 upgrades (MAF, turbo, injectors, FMIC, exhaust manifold, etc) and I have 1.9 bar WG spring. I keep the adjustment screw turned ALL the way UP.